15th December 2022

In December 2022 Jason Roberts, MBE was in London to receive an Honorary Fellowship by UCFB at the Class of 2022 Graduation. Jason, who is Director of Development at Concacaf, and a Member of the University’s Global Institute of Sport (GIS) Advisory Board, was awarded the Honorary Fellowship for his contribution to the Sports University in the UK and the US, and with the Jason Roberts Foundation (JRF) in the UK.

Sharona Friedman, President and co-founder of GIS handed the award to Jason who was recognised for “being instrumental in the expansion (of GIS) into North America and the Caribbean. He generously donates his time and support offering his services as a guest speaker for talks in Wembley and Miami. He also ensured visits to UCFB took place to show the benefits of higher education, with many of our students benefitting from the Jason Roberts Foundation Scholarships.”

JRF has worked with UCFB on several other initiatives including Careers Fairs and offering work placements for students.

This was the first year UCFB & GIS have introduced a new award to its annual Graduation ceremonies to recognise individuals who have contributed to the world of sport and education and/or have supported the development and growth of UCFB & GIS. Those who were bestowed the honour, are considered by the University to be “outstanding interesting people, who act as role models for our students, ambassadors for the institution and provide inspiration to those who are graduating.”

Jason was joined by Sean Dyche, Rachel Brown-Finnis, Gary Mellor, and Mike Phelan, all of whom have been recognised by UCFB & GIS for their outstanding contribution to the work and development of UCFB & GIS or have achieved exceptional distinction in a field or activity relevant to the work of UCFB & GIS.

Jason commented, “It was an honour to accept an Honorary Fellowship UCFB Global Institute of Sport Where I enjoyed meeting faculty, staff, students and graduates and I look forward to playing a role in continuing to educate our future sporting leaders. Congratulations to all.”

For more information please visit: